Friday, June 01, 2007

JAWS on PINA Board

Dear Members,
I am glad to report that JAWS is now officially represented on the Board of PINA. I was chosen by the Heads of National Associations to represent NAs from around the region in the new Board of PINA. I was honoured to be chosen and am thankful that regional NAs have placed their faith in a young female Journalist. I look forward to serving PINA as a Board member along with my fellow colleagues from PNG, Vanuatu and Fiji. Most importantly I look forward to being part of the revival of PINA.

JAWS has long been a member of PINA and our members have been in and out of the PINA Board, I would like to thank the likes of Apulu Lance Polu and Savea Sano Malifa for paving the way for young Samoan journalists like me to be part of the progress in regional media and most importantly to be passionate about the role of the media in the region.


Cherelle Savaliolefilemu Jackson
Secretary of JAWS

The new Board of PINA:

President: Joseph Ealedona, managing director, National Broadcasting Corporation, Papua New Guinea
Vice-president: Jonas Cullwick, longtime journalist and former Vanuatu Broadcasting and Television Corporation general manager.
Head of national associations industry group: Cherelle Jackson, secretary, Journalists Association of [Western] Samoa.
Head of print media industry group: Moses Stevens, editor and publisher, The Ni Vanuatu newspaper.
Head of television industry group: Antoine Malsungai, manager, Television blong Vanuatu.
Head of radio industry group: Fiji Broadcasting Corporation Limited editor Matai Akauola